Call Now

Thiruvalluvar University

Updated on: Feb 27, 2013

Thiruvalluvar University was established under the Thiruvalluvar University Act, 2002 by the Government of Tamil Nadu on 16.10.2002, with an objective to empower the society with higher education.

The University is located at Fort Campus, Vellore which is known for various academic institutions of excellence. The varsity buildings are situated with the Fort Campus, which is a monument of the town.

The university has four districts in its jurisdiction, they are: Cuddalore District, Thiruvannamalai District, Vellore District and Villupuram District. The colleges located here are affiliated to Thiruvalluvar University.

University Departments

Thiruvalluvar University initially started functioning with the existing departments of the P.G. Extension Centre of the University of Madras:
  1. Department of Economics
  2. Department of Zoology
  3. Department of Chemistry

Department of Economics
Department of Economics is headed by Professor Dr.A.R.Veeramani. The department offers M.A., M.Phil, and Ph.D., programmes. Areas of research are Agriculture, Industry and Health Economics.

Department of Zoology
Department of Zoology consists of Dr. G. Singaravelu (Head i/c) and Dr. K. Siva Chandra Bose (Lecturer). The department offers M.Sc., M.Phil., and Ph.D. programmes. Areas of research are Sericulture, Aquaculture Pollution studies and Bio-diversity assessments.

Department of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry is under conversion to Department of Applied Chemistry.

Departments in the Offing
  1. Tamil
  2. English
  3. Medical Physics
  4. Material Science
  5. Bio- Technology
  6. Marine Sciences
  7. Mathematics
  8. Business Studies
  9. Ambedkar Studies

For further information related to Thiruvalluvar University click on the links provided below:

Courses Offered
Exam Results
Contact Details
Subscribe to our newsletter