Call Now

Periyar University

Updated on: Feb 27, 2013

Periyar University was established on 17.09.1997 and was named after the great rationalist, Periyar E.V. Ramasamy Avl. The university is governed under the provisions of the Periyar University Act 1997 (Act 45 of 1997) passed by the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.

The University was set up with a view to cater the educational needs of the people in Salem, Namakkal and Dharmapuri districts. These three districts are backward not only economically, but also educationally and socially. The University is located in an area of 57.91 hectares. The administrative buildings and Science block have been constructed.

The University has been making all efforts to impart knowledge at various fields in consonance to the inscription (Arivaal Vilaiyum Ulagu) made in its emblem. Provision of qualitative education taking into account the present and future scientific development and provision of opportunities to all sections of the society for higher education etc are the prime motto of the University. The varsity revises the syllabi at regular interval as per the educational needs at national level and international level. Looking after the welfare of the students, teachers and the public are among other aims of the University.

For further information related to Periyar University click on the links provided below:

Courses Offered

Correspondence Courses
Exam Results
Contact Details

Subscribe to our newsletter