Call Now

Madurai Kamaraj University - MKU

Updated on: Feb 27, 2013

Madurai Kamaraj University is a state University established by the government of Tamil Nadu in the year 1966. The core of the Madurai Kamaraj University was the Extension centre of the University of Madras located then at Madurai. The University, originally known as Madurai University was named after the historical city of Madurai, the ancient capital of the Pandyan rulers and the seat of three famous Tamil academies during ancient times.

The university has 18 Schools comprising of 73 Departments. It has 109 affiliated Colleges (9 Autonomous) including other approved institutions and 7 evening colleges. There are centres which promote research potential of teachers. Extension activities are carried out through Department of Youth Welfare, NSS, SC/ST cell and Adult Education programmes.

The Directorate of Distance Education of the University has total strength of about 1.30 lakhs. It offers various academic programs through distance mode to students at their door step.

For further information related to Madurai Kamaraj University click on the links provided below:

Courses Offered
Correspondence Courses
Exam Results
Contact Details
Subscribe to our newsletter