Call Now

Alagappa University

Updated on: Mar 4, 2013

Alagappa University was established in the year 1985 by a Special Act of the Government of Tamil Nadu. The university is located at Karaikudi which is well connected by rail and roads from Madurai and Tiruchirappalli. The sprawling 440 acre green and lush campus of the varsity houses all the departments and centres which are engaged in various academic and research activities.

The main objectives behind setting up this varsity were to spread knowledge in various branches of higher learning with special emphasis on research and development. Within a very short period of time, Alagappa University has established itself as an excellent centre of study and research. Owing to its academic performance Alagappa University has been accredited with 'A' Grade by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC).

The University has 15 Departments, 3 Centres and 2 Constituent Colleges on its campus. 23 Affiliated Colleges located in the districts of Sivaganga and Ramanathapuram are part of the University.

The University offers quality education through various modes - Regular, Week-end, Distance and Collaborative. The Distance Education Directorate offers variety of programmes to the student community spread across the country and in selected foreign countries. Through all modes of education, the University caters to the needs of the student community of around 1, 00,000.

The university has academic and research collaboration with several foreign universities including the Universities / Institutions of Higher Learning from countries like China, Malaysia, West Indies, U.S.A. and South Korea. The varsity also provides several innovative courses to the foreign students under student-exchange programmes.

Subscribe to our newsletter